SPS

The Semi-Permanent Storage (SPS) service is a distributed filesystem accessible from all the computing platform servers (interactive servers included). The allocated space is shared by all the users of a group and it is reachable through the path /sps/mygroup or /sps/hep/mygroup.

The default quota for a newly created group is 5 TiB. When requesting additional space, please make sure you follow the allocation criteria.

To know your group SPS utilisation without using the monitoring interface, you may run the Unix command df:

% df -h /sps/mygroup
or
% df -h /sps/hep/mygroup

or, to have more detailed information, (number of files, space used by a specific user...) run the command spsquotalist. Running the command without arguments will list some syntax examples:

% spsquotalist

spsquotalist usage examples:
...

Best practices

SPS service is a disk based storage intended for (but not limited to) files that are either:

  • too large for your home directory;
  • modified (very) often, id est for which the I/O pattern is mostly (small) writes, for instance log files;
  • used by many jobs, especially when the output of one job is the input of a job running later;
  • or when there is a large number of files (from tens of thousands to millions or even tens of millions).

Semi-permanent storage is not intended for permanent storage (for long-term storage, see section Mass storage): SPS disk servers use redundant and reliable storage, however they can fail badly and your data could then be permanently lost since, with a very few exceptions, there is no backup of the /sps disk spaces.

The data on SPS is accessed through POSIX calls in the same way as any local filesystem, using standard API functions and commands such as ls, cp etc.

Note

to submit a job that needs to access SPS, the user should specify it at submission time with the option -l sps=1.

SPS monitoring

Daily statistics about the usage of the SPS disk storage are provided by the service managers. Four kinds of statistics are available for every /sps disk space:

  • Per user space used and files statistics. The intent is to let users know whom among their group is using the disk space available to the group. This is only a per user summary, files list are not available. All files are taken into account including those in directories with restrictive access permissions.

  • Per top-level objects (files and directories) space used and files statistics. The intent is to let users know the amount of space used by the major parts of the filesystem. This is roughly similar to the output of the du command, used the following way:

    % cd /sps/mygroup && du -sh *
    

    For some groups with specific settings, the output may also include objects at a deeper level than the top-level objects (in such a case, these appear in italic and right justified in the first column of the table).

  • Per user cleaned up space statistics. This provides a quick view of the oldest files in a group suggesting cleanup targets.

  • Graphs about files statistics. This includes information about:

    • Files sizes distribution, for instance: “how many files sized between 5 KiB and 10 KiB are there? or how much space is used by all files with a size between 10 and 50 MiB?”
    • Last access time, for instance: “how many files have been accessed in the last 2 weeks? or how much space is used by files not accessed in the last 6 months?”. Accessing a file is reading at least one byte of it.
    • File freshness: this is a rough measure of the frequency and type of access to files and of the life expectancy of files. This is the lapse of time between the last modification time of a file (last write) and the last access time to that file (last read).
    • File types: number of files and space used by file type (for instance ROOT files, log files, etc.) The type of a file is guessed from the filename suffix (extension), for example myjob.log is likely to be a log file.

For any issues with this interface, please first browse the dedicated FAQ.

You may find these informations grouped in the SPS Monitoring homepage.

SPS

Le service SPS (Semi-Permanent Storage) est un système de fichiers distribués accessible depuis tous les serveurs interactifs et les noeuds de calcul de la ferme. L’espace alloué est partagé par tous les utilisateurs d’un groupe et il est accessible par le chemin /sps/mygroup ou /sps/hep/mygroup.

Le quota par défaut pour un nouveau groupe est de 5 TiB.

Pour connaître l’utilisation de l’espace SPS de votre groupe sans passer par l’interface web du monitoring, vous pouvez utiliser la commande Unix df :

% df -h /sps/mygroup
ou
% df -h /sps/hep/mygroup

ou, pour des informations plus détaillées (nombre de fichiers, espace utilisé par un utilisateur...) utilsez la commande spsquotalist. Lancer la commande sans arguments fourni une série d’exemples de syntaxe :

% spsquotalist

spsquotalist usage examples:
...

Bonnes pratiques

Le systeme de stockage SPS est un stockage sur disque destiné (mais pas limité) aux fichiers suivants :

  • trop volumineux pour votre home ;
  • modifiés (très) souvent, c’est-à-dire pour lesquels le modèle d’I/O est principalement des (petites) écritures, par exemple des fichiers log ;
  • utilisés par de nombreux jobs, en particulier lorsque le résultat d’un job correspond à l’input d’un job exécuté ultérieurement ;
  • ou lorsqu’il y a un grand nombre de fichiers (de dizaines de milliers à des millions voire des dizaines de millions).

Le stockage semi-permanent n’est pas destiné au stockage permanent (pour du stockage à long terme, veuillez consulter la rubrique Stockage de masse.) : les serveurs de disques SPS utilisent un stockage redondant et fiable, mais peuvent avoir des pannes critiques ; vos données pourraient alors être définitivement perdues puisque, à quelques exceptions près, les espaces sous /sps ne sont pas sauvegardés.

Les données sur SPS peuvent être accédées par des appels POSIX de la même façon que sur un système de fichiers local au travers de fonctions et commandes standard comme ls, cp, etc.

Note

pour soumettre un job devant accéder à SPS, l’utilisateur doit le spécifier au moment de la soumission avec l’option -l sps=1.

Monitoring de SPS

Des statistiques quotidiennes sur l’utilisation de l’espace SPS sont fournies par les gestionnaires du service. Quatre types de statistiques sont disponibles pour chaque espace disque /sps :

  • Statistiques par utilisateur des fichiers et de l’espace utilisé. L’intention est d’informer les utilisateurs sur qui parmi leur groupe utilise l’espace disque disponible. Ceci est simplement un résumé par utilisateur, la liste des fichiers n’est pas disponible. Tous les fichiers sont pris en compte, y compris ceux des répertoires avec des autorisations d’accès restreint.

  • Statistiques par objets de premier niveau (fichiers et répertoires) des fichiers et de l’espace utilisé. L’intention est de permettre aux utilisateurs de connaître la quantité d’espace utilisée par les principales parties du système de fichiers. Ceci est à peu près similaire au résultat de la commande du, utilisé de la manière suivante :

    % cd /sps/mygroup && du -sh *
    

    Pour certains groupes avec des paramètres spécifiques, le résultat peut également inclure des objets d’un niveau plus profond (dans ce cas, ils apparaissent en italique et justifiés à droite dans la première colonne du tableau).

  • Statistiques par utilisateur d’espace nettoyé. Il permet une vue rapide des fichiers les plus anciens d’un groupe, suggérant des cibles de nettoyage.

  • Graphiques sur les statistiques des fichiers. Cela inclut des informations sur :

    • La distribution des tailles de fichiers, par exemple : “combien y a-t-il de fichiers d’une taille comprise entre 5 KiB et 10 KiB ? ou combien d’espace est utilisé par tous les fichiers d’une taille comprise entre 10 et 50 MiB ?”
    • Dernier temps d’accès, par exemple : “combien de fichiers ont été consultés au cours des 2 dernières semaines ? ou combien d’espace a été utilisé par les fichiers non utilisés au cours des 6 derniers mois ?” Un accès est comptabilisé si on lit au moins un octet à un fichier.
    • Fraîcheur des fichiers : il s’agit d’une mesure approximative de la fréquence et du type d’accès aux fichiers, ainsi que de leur durée de vie. Il s’agit du laps de temps entre le dernier temps de modification d’un fichier (dernière écriture) et le dernier temps d’accès à ce fichier (dernière lecture).
    • Types de fichiers : nombre de fichiers et espace utilisé par type de fichier (par exemple, fichiers ROOT, fichiers journaux, etc.) Le type d’un fichier est déterminé à partir du suffixe du nom de fichier (extension), par exemple myjob.log est susceptible d’être un fichier log.

Pour tout problème avec cette interface, veuillez d’abord parcourir la FAQ dédiée

Vous pouvez trouver ces informations regroupées dans la page d’accueil du monitoring SPS.