Document management

Atrium

The IN2P3 Electronic Document Management (GED - Gestion Electronique Documentaire) system is provided by the Atrium platform. It is based on the Open Source solution Nuxeo. You can directly access this service on: https://atrium.in2p3.fr.

To subscribe to this service, please contact our user support.

Box

The Box service is a collaborative tool to store and edit documents. The documents stored on Box can be manipulated, edited, shared and protected through any web browser.

The OnlyOffice functionality also allows simultaneous editing, with other collaborators, of documents compatible with Office.

Any member of an organization recognized by the eduGAIN federation may access this service by certificate. This space allows you to work on documents shared with academic institutions not necessarily belonging to IN2P3 or CNRS.

Access to the web service is on: https://box.in2p3.fr.

It is possible to synchronize the documents in your space with your local workstation (desktop or mobile) using a NextCloud client. Each user can store up to 5 GB of documents on Box.

Please note that Box is not an archive space: documents persistence is not guaranteed. Choose Atrium for your valuable documents. Box is also not intended to store and allow scientific data sharing or processing.

To submit requests, or report malfunctions, please contact our user support.

Nextcloud-OnlyOffice interactions

When creating a new «Office type» file or editing an existing document, a new browser tab is opened. OnlyOffice libraries are loaded in this tab and the document content is copied to the OnlyOffice server. The latter indicates to Nextcloud, once these processes have been completed, that a user is editing the document.

When all users and client browsers have finished editing, they close the edit window.

After a few seconds of inactivity, OnlyOffice Document Server notifies Nextcloud that the clients have finished editing the document and closed it.

Nextcloud downloads the new version of the document, which replaces the old one.

Consequently,

  1. the message during the editing indicating that all the modifications have been saved is refers exclusively to the local edition session: it indicates that these modifications, made by this client, have been written to the OnlyOffice server independently of other editing sessions in progress at the same document.
  2. OnlyOffice does not build a new version of a document until all editing sessions are finished. This status is determined by the closing of the edit windows (even if there is only one).
  3. Nextcloud does not intervene at any time during the editing of a document by OnlyOffice. This means that there cannot be intermediate versions of a document.

Attention

As long as a document is open in an OnlyOffice editor window, it is not saved by Nextcloud or by OpenOffice, which does not manage changes made in a cache without building an intermediate version.