Passwordless connection

You can establish connections to the interactive servers by using the password associated with your computing account. This method requires you to type in your password every time you connect to the servers.

Alternatively, you can establish secure, passwordless connections provided that you:

  1. install and configure Kerberos on your workstation, and
  2. configure your SSH client to use Kerberos tickets (instead of your password).

Once done, you will only need to type your password periodically (typically once per day) and then establish as many secure connections as you need for your work. In this tutorial you can find details on how to install Kerberos and configure your SSH client on your workstation.

Install and configure Kerberos

Kerberos is a network authentication protocol that proves securely your identity by connecting to CC-IN2P3 interactive servers using SSH. If not already done, you will need to install the Kerberos application available for your workstation. On a Unix-like OS you will have to install two software packages, usually named krb5-user and krb5-config, the former providing the programs, and the latter the configuration files.

After installing Kerberos, you will find new available commands such as kinit, klist, krenew and kdestroy. These commands require that the file /etc/krb5.conf exists and is correctly filled. The default contents of /etc/krb5.conf is likely not suitable for our purpose, so you can freely rename it and populate a new one with the contents below, which is valid for both macOS and Linux:

[libdefaults]
    default_realm       = CC.IN2P3.FR
    dns_lookup_realm    = false
    dns_lookup_kdc      = true
    allow_weak_crypto   = false
    kdc_timeout         = 10
    max_retries         = 3
    ticket_lifetime     = 3d
    renew_lifetime      = 30d
    forwardable         = true
    proxiable           = false
    default_ccache_name = DIR:/tmp/kerberos

[realms]
    CC.IN2P3.FR = {
        default_domain  = idm.cc.in2p3.fr
        kpasswd_server  = ccidm01.in2p3.fr
        admin_server    = ccidm01.in2p3.fr
        kdc             = ccidm01.in2p3.fr:88
        kdc             = ccidm02.in2p3.fr:88
        kdc             = ccidm03.in2p3.fr:88
        kdc             = ccidm04.in2p3.fr:88
    }

[appdefaults]
    encrypt = true

Note

You can use another location for the Kerberos configuration file (e.g. $HOME/krb5.conf) by initializing the environment variable KRB5_CONFIG with the path to your file (e.g. export KRB5_CONFIG=$HOME/krb5.conf). This alternative way may be useful if you don’t have super-user privileges on your workstation.

You should now be able to obtain a Kerberos ticket. Assuming your computing account is username, type:

% kinit username@CC.IN2P3.FR

and type in the password associated to the account username.

Important

Kerberos is case-sensitive so you must type the realm CC.IN2P3.FR in upper case.

You can verify that you successfully obtained a ticket using the klist command:

% klist
Ticket cache: DIR::/tmp/kerberos/tkt
Default principal: username@CC.IN2P3.FR

Valid starting       Expires              Service principal
07/24/2019 14:47:02  07/25/2019 14:47:02  krbtgt/CC.IN2P3.FR@CC.IN2P3.FR
        renew until 07/31/2019 14:47:02

The output of klist shows that you have successfully obtained a Kerberos ticket which is cached on your workstation and also shows the ticket’s validity period. CC-IN2P3 Kerberos delivers tickets with a maximum validity period of 3 days. However, you can obtain a Kerberos ticket with a shorter duration if you wish so (see -l option of kinit).

Note

If your user name on your workstation is the same as your computing account (e.g. username) and you only have configured Kerberos for the realm CC.IN2P3.FR, you can get a ticket by typing kinit, without arguments. The Kerberos ticket’s principal (i.e. username@CC.IN2P3.FR) is inferred from the user name of the current session and the default realm from the configuration file /etc/krb5.conf.

Note

The Kerberos ticket is valid for 3 days, but can be renewed to extend its validity. To renew it, you can use % kinit -R username@CC.IN2P3.FR or only % kinit -R if username@CC.IN2P3.FR is your default Kerberos principal.

Configure your SSH client

Once you have proven your identity by obtaining a Kerberos ticket via the kinit command, you may connect via SSH to the CC-IN2P3 computing platform without typing your password again, as many times as you need as long as your Kerberos ticket is still valid.

A convenient way to tell SSH that you want to use your Kerberos ticket rather than your password to connect to the CC-IN2P3 servers is to create an entry in your workstation SSH configuration file (generally $HOME/.ssh/config):

For Ubuntu, CentOS, Fedora
Host cc
   Hostname                   cca.in2p3.fr
   User                       username
   GSSAPIClientIdentity       username@CC.IN2P3.FR
   GSSAPIAuthentication       yes
   GSSAPIDelegateCredentials  yes
   GSSAPITrustDns             yes
For macOS

The SSH client shipped with macOS v10.12 and later does not include support for Kerberos connections to a host behind a DNS alias, such as cca.in2p3.fr. You need to use a specific host name, such as cca001.in2p3.fr, which means that you will always connect to the same host. To mitigate this, you may want to add several entries to $HOME/.ssh/config, each one using a different host name:

Host cc
   Hostname                  cca001.in2p3.fr
   User                      username
   GSSAPIAuthentication      yes
   GSSAPIDelegateCredentials yes

In addition, if you have got active Kerberos tickets for more than one realm, the macOS SSH client will use the ticket in the default credential cache, which may not be the one for CC.IN2P3.FR. To make sure your ticket for the CC.IN2P3.FR realm is the default one, use the following command before establishing the SSH connection:

% kswitch -p username@CC.IN2P3.FR

After configuring your SSH client, you can securely connect to the interactive servers using your valid Kerberos ticket without being prompted for password, by using the command:

% ssh cc

Note

In this example we used cc in the line Host cc as a convenient short alias for naming the CC-IN2P3 interactive servers. You may choose another alias which you find convenient for you.

Warning

Please bear in mind that CC-IN2P3 provides this passwordless connection mechanism for your own convenience. Anyone with physical access to your workstation may exploit this mechanism to connect to CC-IN2P3 computing platform on your behalf.

Therefore, you are asked to take appropriate security measures to protect your individual credentials and workstation from unauthorized access to avoid impersonation. Please refer to the Charters for the use of resources.

Advanced configuration

If you connect via SSH to different CC-IN2P3 hosts, you can describe them all in your $HOME/.ssh/config. For instance on a Linux workstation you can use:

Host cca
   Hostname cca.in2p3.fr

Host cca1
   Hostname cca001.in2p3.fr

Host cca8
   Hostname cca008.in2p3.fr

#
# The SSH options below apply to all 'Host' entries that match the pattern cc*
#
Host cc*
   User                      username
   GSSAPIClientIdentity      username@CC.IN2P3.FR
   GSSAPIAuthentication      yes
   GSSAPIDelegateCredentials yes
   GSSAPITrustDns            yes

More detailed information about customizing your SSH client can be found in the man page ssh_config(5) and in this tutorial .

If you need assistance, or have questions, please contact our user support.

Connexion sans mot de passe

On peut se connecter aux machines interactives du CC-IN2P3 en utilisant le mot de passe associé à son compte de calcul. Cette méthode implique la saisie de ce mot de passe à chaque connexion.

Une seconde méthode de connexion existe, permettant une connexion sécurisée sans utilisation du mot de passe. Pour cela, vous devez :

  1. installer et configurer Kerberos sur votre machine de travail ;
  2. configurer le client SSH de façon à utiliser le ticket Kerberos pour l’authentification (au lieu du mot de passe).

Une fois cette installation réalisée, vous n’aurez plus qu’à entrer votre mot de passe périodiquement (typiquement une fois par jour, ou moins) et vous pourrez établir autant de connexions sécurisées que nécessaire. Dans ce didacticiel, vous trouverez les informations nécessaires pour installer Kerberos et configurer votre client SSH pour réaliser cela.

Installer et configurer Kerberos

Kerberos est un protocole réseau d’authentification qui permet de prouver son identité lors de connexions sécurisées à des machines interactives du CC-IN2P3 en utilisant SSH. Si ce n’est déjà fait, vous aurez besoin d’installer le logiciel Kerberos sur votre machine de travail. Pour un système de type Unix, il devrait y avoir deux paquets logiciels à installer, généralement nommés krb5-user et krb5-config, le premier fournissant les programmes requis, et le second les fichiers de configuration.

Une fois Kerberos installé, de nouvelles commandes, telles que kinit, klist, krenew et kdestroy seront disponibles. Ces commandes nécessitent que le fichier de configuration /etc/krb5.conf existe et soit correctement rempli. La configuration par défaut ne permettra pas de se connecter, donc vous pouvez le renommer (ou le remplacer) et en créer un nouveau avec le contenu adéquat, donné ci-dessous (configuration valide pour Linux et macOS) :

[libdefaults]
    default_realm       = CC.IN2P3.FR
    dns_lookup_realm    = false
    dns_lookup_kdc      = true
    allow_weak_crypto   = false
    kdc_timeout         = 10
    max_retries         = 3
    ticket_lifetime     = 3d
    renew_lifetime      = 30d
    forwardable         = true
    proxiable           = false
    default_ccache_name = DIR:/tmp/kerberos

[realms]
    CC.IN2P3.FR = {
        default_domain  = idm.cc.in2p3.fr
        kpasswd_server  = ccidm01.in2p3.fr
        admin_server    = ccidm01.in2p3.fr
        kdc             = ccidm01.in2p3.fr:88
        kdc             = ccidm02.in2p3.fr:88
        kdc             = ccidm03.in2p3.fr:88
        kdc             = ccidm04.in2p3.fr:88
    }

[appdefaults]
    encrypt = true

Note

On peut spécifier l’emplacement du fichier de configuration (par exemple $HOME/krb5.conf) si nécessaire par l’utilisation de la variable d’environnement KRB5_CONFIG, initialisée avec le chemin complet vers le fichier, par exemple : % export KRB5_CONFIG=$HOME/krb5.conf. Cette méthode alternative peut être utile dans le cas où vous ne possédez pas de droits super-utilisateur sur votre machine de travail.

Vous devriez maintenant pouvoir obtenir un ticket Kerberos. Supposons que votre identifiant soit username :

% kinit username@CC.IN2P3.FR

et il suffit maintenant d’entrer votre mot de passe associé à votre compte.

Important

Kerberos est sensible à la casse, aussi il faut bien écrire le royaume CC.IN2P3.FR en majuscules.

Vous pouvez maintenant vérifier que vous avez bien obtenu un ticket en utilisant la commande klist :

% klist
Ticket cache: DIR::/tmp/kerberos/tkt
Default principal: username@CC.IN2P3.FR

Valid starting       Expires              Service principal
07/24/2019 14:47:02  07/25/2019 14:47:02  krbtgt/CC.IN2P3.FR@CC.IN2P3.FR
        renew until 07/31/2019 14:47:02

La sortie de la commande klist montre que vous avez obtenu un ticket, qui est en cache sur votre machine de travail, ainsi que sa période de validité. Le CC-IN2P3 fournit des tickets valable 3 jours (au maximum). Mais vous pouvez préciser la durée de validité désirée, grâce à l’option -l.

Note

Si votre identifiant sur votre machine de travail est le même que celui de votre compte, à savoir username, et que vous n’avez à configurer Kerberos que pour le royaume CC.IN2P3.FR, vous pouvez alors simplement utiliser la commande kinit, sans argument. Le Kerberos Default principal, c’est-à-dire username@CC.IN2P3.FR sera alors déduit de votre nom d’utilisateur de la session en cours et le royaume par défaut du fichier /etc/krb5.conf.

Note

Le ticket Kerberos est valide pendant 3 jours, mais peut être renouvelé, ce qui étend sa validité. Pour faire cela, il suffit de faire % kinit -R username@CC.IN2P3.FR ou, simplement, % kinit -R si username@CC.IN2P3.FR est votre principal Kerberos par défaut.

Configurer son client SSH

Une fois que vous avez obtenu un ticket Kerberos grâce à la commande kinit, vous pouvez vous connecter par SSH aux machines du CC-IN2P3 sans devoir entrer votre mot de passe, tant que votre ticket Kerberos reste valide.

Une façon pratique de spécifier au client SSH d’utiliser ce ticket Kerberos plutôt que votre mot de passe est de créer une entrée spécifique pour la connexion aux machines du CC-IN2P3 dans le fichier de configuration de SSH, qui se trouve normalement dans votre répertoire utilisateur, à savoir le fichier $HOME/.ssh/config :

Pour Ubuntu, CentOS, Fedora
Host cc
   Hostname                   cca.in2p3.fr
   User                       username
   GSSAPIClientIdentity       username@CC.IN2P3.FR
   GSSAPIAuthentication       yes
   GSSAPIDelegateCredentials  yes
   GSSAPITrustDns             yes
Pour macOS
Le client SSH fournit avec macOS version 10.2 et ultérieure n’inclut pas le support pour connexion à des machines derrière un alias DNS, tel que cca.in2p3.fr. Vous avez donc à désigner une machine spécifique, telle que cca001.in2p3.fr, ce qui impliquera que vous allez systématiquement vous connecter à cette machine. Il est néanmoins possible d’indiquer plusieurs hôtes dans le fichier de configuration $HOME/.ssh/config :
Host cc
   Hostname                  cca001.in2p3.fr
   User                      username
   GSSAPIAuthentication      yes
   GSSAPIDelegateCredentials yes

De plus, si vous possédez des tickets valides pour plusieurs royaumes, le client SSH de macOS utilisera le ticket associé à l’identifiant par défaut, qui peut ne pas être celui du royaume CC.IN2P3.FR. Afin de vérifier que le royaume CC.IN2P3.FR est bien celui par défaut, vous devez utiliser cette commande, avant d’établir la connexion SSH :

% kswitch -p username@CC.IN2P3.FR

Une fois le client SSH configuré, vous pourrez alors vous connecter de manière sécurisée en utilisant votre ticket Kerberos, grâce à la commande :

% ssh cc

Note

Dans cet exemple, on utilise l’hôte cc de la ligne Host cc comme alias pour désigner la plateforme de machines interactives.

Warning

Veuillez noter que le CC-IN2P3 fournit cette fonctionnalité de connexion sans mot de passe à des fins pratiques. Quiconque ayant un accès physique à votre machine de travail pourrait exploiter ce mécanisme pour se connecter, en votre nom, sur les machines du CC-IN2P3.

C’est pourquoi on vous demande de prendre toutes les précautions nécessaires pour protéger vos identifiant et mot de passe et ainsi éviter toute utilisation frauduleuse de ceux-ci. La Charte de sécurité des systèmes informatique du CNRS s’applique.

Configuration avancée

Si vous vous connectez habituellement à plusieurs machines du CC-IN2P3, vous pouvez toutes les spécifier dans le fichier de configuration $HOME/.ssh/config. Pour une machine Linux, on pourra, par exemple, définir cette configuration :

Host cca
   Hostname cca.in2p3.fr

Host cca1
   Hostname cca001.in2p3.fr

Host cca8
   Hostname cca008.in2p3.fr

#
# The SSH options below apply to all 'Host' entries that match the pattern cc*
#

Host cc*
   User                      username
   GSSAPIClientIdentity      username@CC.IN2P3.FR
   GSSAPIAuthentication      yes
   GSSAPIDelegateCredentials yes
   GSSAPITrustDns            yes

Pour une personnalisation plus avancée de votre client SSH, vous pouvez vous référer à la page de manuel ssh_config(5) ou à ce didacticiel.

Si des questions subsistent, ou si vous avez besoin d’aide, veuillez contacter notre support utilisateur du CC-IN2P3.